UKCORRUPTFAMILYCOURTS

March 28, 2010

Twins who were beaten, abused, starved & driven to the brink of suicide by their FOSTER PARENTS TODAYS NEWS AND GUESS WHAT STAFFORDSHIRE COUNCIL DID NOTHING

Twins who were beaten, abused, starved & driven to the brink of suicide by their FOSTER PARENTS
COMPENSATION AT LAST FOR…
Laura Armstrong
Twin sisters Helen Stuckey and Sarah Walsh hugged each other with joy last week – unlike when they were little girls and hugged as they trembled with fear.
The reason for last week’s quiet embrace was that the 26-year-old sisters have finally won compensation from a council that put them in the care of the foster parents from hell.
From the age of two, Helen and Sarah were regularly beaten by the couple who should have given them a loving, protected life.
Both girls, who have bravely waived their anonymity, were also forced to perform sex acts on each other while their vile foster brother watched.
And Sarah was sexually abused by their twisted foster dad between the age of five and 16.
Staffordshire county council staff visited the children frequently but failed to spot warning signs.
These included both sisters trying to commit suicide DOZENS of times, SEVEN ignored reports of physical abuse and THREE disregarded admissions by their stepfather that he and his wife beat the kids.
Social services were unaware of the sexual abuse but Helen and Sarah claim it would never have happened if they been removed from the evil family’s care.
Helen told The People: “This battle was never about winning a large amount of money. For us it was our way of getting social services to admit blame for what happened to us.
“They will never admit blame – we understand that now – but in our minds this pay-out suggests they at least accept they were negligent.
“Now we can fully move on and try to forget those years of hell.”
Survived
The girls were placed with the foster parents in 1985 after their mother – a schizophrenic – was unable to look after them.
Almost immediately after they were taken in, the physical abuse started.
Sarah said: “If we hadn’t had each other, I honestly don’t think we would have survived. We were beaten and abused from almost day one.”
In 1988, social services admitted they were worried that the foster brother – then aged 15- was looking after the five-year-old twins during the day. But NO action was taken.
In 1993 the foster parents admitted to a social worker that the mother smacked them although carers are NOT supposed to use physical punishment. Again no action was taken.
Next year both parents agreed to stop using corporal punishment. This did NOT happen.
Shockingly, the girls weren’t only being physically abused. From 1988 until 1996 Sarah and Helen were forced to perform sex acts while their foster brother watched. Sarah was also sexually abused by her foster dad.
Sarah said: “We never did anything about it because we were too scared.”
Helen added: “Despite everything we have been through, we don’t want to be seen as victims because we know we are lucky to have escaped our foster family.
“But there must be thousands of helpless children out there trapped in abusive families.
“And one day we hope to change the law so that social services staff are required to take responsibility for the mistakes they make.”
Sarah continued: “Our foster mum was a nasty drinker and if she was drunk or hungover she would go after us with anything she could get.
“Whenever she did use her fists, she would wet them so the punch would hurt more, and then pull us upstairs by our hair.
“I wanted so badly for the beatings to stop, but we were frightened to say anything in case the social workers took us away and split us up.
“So instead we learnt to say nothing when we were beaten. And when it was over and we were alone, we would sit and cry together.
“I was so unhappy and frightened but knowing Helen was there holding my hand helped.”
Helen said: “It wasn’t just the beatings, it was the humiliation. We used to be called the waterworks by classmates because we’d always be crying when we arrived at school.
“And we never made friends because other children were too frightened to come to our house. They had seen the beatings, such as when our foster mum pulled Sarah outside by her shirt collar and slammed her up against a brick wall, screaming that she was a slag and telling her to p*** off.
“Other times we’d be banned from eating for ages, or made to eat until we were sick, just for trivial reasons. I remember once as a child eating Stork margarine with sugar on top because I was so hungry.
Desperate
“I didn’t care that it made me feel sick, I was just so desperate that I just shovelled it in like an animal.”
The People knows the identity of the twins’ foster family but has decided not to name them for legal reasons.
Their foster mother is still inolved with children while their foster brother now has children of his own. Their foster father died of cancer seven years ago. Helen said: “It scares me to think that our foster mum is still working with young children.
“In the 15 years I lived with her she never once showed Sarah or me a shred of pity, let alone any love.
“If we sobbed when she hurt us, she would just hit harder.”
Sarah said: “The things our foster brother made us do was more confusing than anything else at first. But when my foster dad abused me, I felt sick and alone.”
Helen, tortured by the belief that she was to blame for her sister’s suffering, took an overdose of pills and cough mixture.
Sarah was thrown out by her foster mum when the twins were 16. The homeless teenager began cutting her wrists and was hospitalised after four overdoses.
She said: “After years of abuse I really believed what our foster parents had told us – we were worthless and there was no point in living. It was only when my foster dad died in 2003 I finally felt that I could open up about everything.”
In 2006 Helen and Sarah reported the abuse to police.
Their foster mum and brother were questioned but released without charge after the Crown Prosecution Service ruled there was a lack of evidence of the brother’s abuse and the time limit to prosecute the mother for assault had expired.
So the twins – now mums themselves – launched a claim against Staffordshire County Council.
Now they have received £70,000 compensation three weeks before the case was due to be heard in court.
The compensation is NOT for the abuse but for social services breaching their duty of care.
Sarah said: “Hearing the settlement had been reached was like having a 10-ton weight lifted.”
Helen added: “I still see our foster mum in the street sometimes and she laughs if she catches sight of me. But now I can put all the anger that I used to feel behind me.”
Staffordshire County Council said: “We made an out-of-court settlement but do not accept liability for the allegations which have never been proved. We have, however, offered the claimants help and support.
“The fostering service has come a very long way since the 1980s. We were inspected by Ofsted in 2009 and our fostering service was judged outstanding.”
Solicitor Richard Scorer of Manchester law firm Pannone said: “We were able to find information to support Helen and Sarah’s case.
“Although no amount of money can ever compensate for what they went through, I am pleased to have played a part in getting them justice .”
laura.armstrong@people.co.uk

http://www.people.co.uk/news/tm_headline=twins-who-were-beaten-abused-starved-driven-to-the-brink-of-suicide-by-their-foster-parents%26method=full%26objectid=22143896%26siteid=93463-name_page.html

6 Comments »

  1. In my CAHMS running records there are entries of foster parents “unable to cope”. Consideration was taken place in a case conference to move me out of my placement in 1988.Never happened. Around the time my “bad delinquent” behaviour was at it’s worst.Until I finally asked to not go with the foster parents to Brum in 1991.Re fostered by a black foster family.More problems than better for me. There are references of previous long term f/c “very critical”. In 1992.
    Other serious things such as an abusive partner “treats her very badly” in 1989/90 You see I had reported rapes to her. Reported it to my form teacher. But she deemed me as a fanaticist. A “groping” music teacher who had done this to me too. Both carers and headmistress deemed me to be an “attention seeking troublemaker”. But I was NOT lying. He resigned a few weeks later after I reported him.

    But I am now wondering how much went back to Social Services if at all. What I think is happening is that these social workers do not want to admit that catologues of errors are happening, so they do not have to admit fault and blame. When the evidence is there blatantly in front of them. Because carers are visited routinely monthly. It would seem like they do not do the same stringent checks to children in their care like the would “harass the birth parents”. My counsellor at Rape crisis centre was appalled at the amount of times that I had been “missed”

    Comment by melizza moore — April 3, 2010 @ 3:25 pm | Reply

  2. THE WITCH-HUNTS WHICH WE THOUGHT WERE ASSIGNED TO THE MIDDLE AGES ARE ALIVE AND WELL AT STAFFORD COUNCIL!!!

    Comment by Sabina Heywood — March 29, 2010 @ 5:25 am | Reply

  3. REQUEST: ALL MOTHERS/FATHERS AFFECTED BY STAFFORD SOCIAL SERVICES Please pen a brief letter on what Stafford Social Services has done to you and your children. Any evidence you have would be most welcome. DONT be afraid to name who the Social Workers are/ CAFCASS/ Psychiatrist/Psychologist they hired to stitch you up and email to me at sabinaheywood@hotmail.co.uk I am going to get as many cases together as possible. Also please blog your stories on here too as we are going to push for a PUBLIC ENQUIRY. We know there are at least five children under the ‘care’ of Stafford who simply should not be there as their innocent parents have been witch-hunted. We want to get these children back home with their families.

    Take Care All

    Sabina

    Comment by Sabina Heywood — March 29, 2010 @ 5:23 am | Reply

  4. REQUEST: PUBLIC ENQUIRY RE STAFFORD SOCIAL SERVICES

    WHEN: NOW!

    Comment by Sabina Heywood — March 28, 2010 @ 12:14 pm | Reply

  5. Its bizzare that OFTEAD gave them an ‘outstanding’ report re their Foster Services in 2009 given that they are aware my son was hit on the head with an axe in 2007 under the ‘care’ of Stafford. After a Social Worker told me about it his manager DAVE ROUNSLEY then proceeded to cover this up! He also said I couldn’t see my son to comfort him!
    Also my son Alex should not be in care at all! There was a Private Law case whch was transformed into A public hearing when my solicitor (who described my parenting of a high standard) Social Services in Lincoln then snatched my son out of school behind my back and sent him to live in Stafford with his father where his girlfriend having post-natal depression subjected my son to hunger, beatings and emotional abuse. She also admits she tok an overdose of sleeing pills: Stafford have failed to nform me of this. This was all covered up by Charlotte Jenkins and her manager in Stafford the same local authority in the above article. I applied to have my son back but CAFCASS Lesley Hughes recommended that he stay in Foster Care! despite my sons wish to return and all his family! She doesn’t give a clear reason for this. The Social Worker Tony Bowen lied in the court statement re the quality of the contacts and I have proof of this as I taped ALL the contacts. He has committed perjury.
    When I requested an investigation as advised by Childrens Minister Beverley Hughes I was cut off from my son altogether. So my son is in care: he is cut off from all family members. He has been abused under the care of Staffrd Social Services. OFSTEAD failed to investigate my case despite several phone calls and emails. I am an excellent mother and I want my son back. I ordered all my papers under DPA they arrived months late, pages and pages have been carefully deleted with a black marker pen most of it being evidence that my son should never have been taken away: they have even covered up information from other Social Workers which state my son should live with me as he is very well looked after. These people are not excellent service providers they are a National DISGRACE and should be exposed and investigated forthwith. I have just had the christmas card sent back as they didn’t pass it on to my son as they claimed it was ‘inappropiate’ so I asked a child psychologist to examine it and she states there is nothing wrong with it whatsoever! which there isn’t! these lies about me are constant as Stafford have a lot to hide. I think there should be a Public investigation as I know there are other mothers who have been cut off from their children and lied about by this lot. Somebody needs to do something about them: and fast! When you request an investigation what do they do? investigate? no they send the police round after making further false accusations and then they blackmail you. They make you think your child wants to stay put despite your child begging to come home when they see you. I demand a public enquiry.

    Comment by Sabina Heywood — March 28, 2010 @ 12:10 pm | Reply

  6. Note the following

    Staffordshire county council staff visited the children frequently but failed to spot warning signs.

    These included both sisters trying to commit suicide DOZENS of times, SEVEN ignored reports of physical abuse and THREE disregarded admissions by their stepfather that he and his wife beat the kids.

    Social services were unaware of the sexual abuse but Helen and Sarah claim it would never have happened if they been removed from the evil family’s care.

    Helen told The People: “This battle was never about winning a large amount of money. For us it was our way of getting social services to admit blame for what happened to us.

    “They will never admit blame – we understand that now – but in our minds this pay-out suggests they at least accept they were negligent.

    In 1988, social services admitted they were worried that the foster brother – then aged 15- was looking after the five-year-old twins during the day. But NO action was taken.

    In 1993 the foster parents admitted to a social worker that the mother smacked them although carers are NOT supposed to use physical punishment. Again no action was taken.

    “And one day we hope to change the law so that social services staff are required to take responsibility for the mistakes they make.”
    Their foster mother is still inolved with children while their foster brother now has children of his own. Their foster father died of cancer seven years ago. Helen said: “It scares me to think that our foster mum is still working with young children.
    Now they have received £70,000 compensation three weeks before the case was due to be heard in court.

    The compensation is NOT for the abuse but for social services breaching their duty of care.

    Staffordshire County Council said: “We made an out-of-court settlement but do not accept liability for the allegations which have never been proved. We have, however, offered the claimants help and support.

    “The fostering service has come a very long way since the 1980s. We were inspected by Ofsted in 2009 and our fostering service was judged outstanding.”

    WELL IF IT IS DEEMED OUTSTANDING WHY HAVE 2 OF MY CHILDREN BEEN ASSAULTED BY 2 SEPERATE FOSTER CARERS ?
    WHY WAS MY BABY FULL OF INJURIES AND SENT BACK TO ME WITH DRIED FAECES FROM A PREVIOUS NAPPY ?
    WHY DID YOU DO NOTHING IN THESE CASES ALSO ?

    THERE NEEDS TO BE AN INVESTIGATION INTO THIS TEAM FROM MANAGEMENT DOWN.

    THEY AS STATED ABOVE AND WITH ALL MY CASES WILL AND HERE I GO AGAIN ” NOT ACCEPT ANY ACCOUNTABILTY “

    Comment by nojusticeforparents — March 28, 2010 @ 9:16 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

